Congratulations to Drs. Elterman and Shellhaas ~ 2024 Child Neurology Society Award Recipients


Two of PERF®’s leadership team will be honored at the Child Neurology Society (CNS) 53rd Annual Meeting, November 11-14, 2024, in San Diego, CA.

Roger and Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Award
Roy D. Elterman, MD

Roger & Mary Brumback Lifetime Achievement Awards are presented to CNS Members in recognition of a life-long commitment to child neurology, patient care, and humanism in medicine.  Eligibility criteria include:
The nominee has been a member of the Child Neurology Society for at least 20 years and recognized for 1) an outstanding commitment to child neurology, patient care, and humanism in medicine, as assessed by the nominator(s), colleagues, trainees, and patients and their families; 2) leadership or service to the Child Neurology Society; and 3) a life-long career devoted to child neurology as a clinical discipline, whether as a practitioner, clinical investigator, or advocate for the principles of the Child Neurology Society.

Hower Award – Renée Shellhaas, MD, MS, FAES

The Child Neurology Society Hower Award is given annually to honor a child neurologist and member of the CNS who is highly regarded as an outstanding teacher and scholar and additionally has given a high level of service to the Child Neurology Society. Particular emphasis is placed on contributions to child neurology on national (ABPN, AAN, ANA) and international levels. The final selection is made by the CNS Awards Committee and the CNS Executive Committee. Funding for the award is provided by the Hower Family Foundation.